SAN LORENZO is a young municipality of the Province of Guimaras. It was created last February 20, 1995 by virtue of Republic Act 7897. The municipality is composed of 12 barangays with an area of 10,456.0863 hectares. This municipality got seven barangays namely Cabano, Aguilar, Sapal, Constancia, Tamborong, Sebario and Igcawayan from the Municipality of Jordan. The barangays of Gaban, Cabungahan, M. Chavez, Suclaran and San Enrique emanated from the Municipality of Buenavista.

SAN LORENZO got its name from the first Filipino Saint, San Lorenzo de Ruiz. A place abounds with peace loving people is blessed with vast agricultural lands potential for farm and eco-tourism.